Overblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog

Read on line, follow the updates of my historic novel The Boutique Robillard, fandom of Gone with the Wind (in English, click on top)

 

 

 

Lisez en ligne mon roman historique, dans l'Amérique de 1876 : La Boutique Robillard, ma suite d'Autant en Emporte le Vent (en français)

Publié par Arlette Dambron

Rhett Butler to Scarlett 0'Hara : "Franky, my dear, I don't give a damn!" (picture from the movie Gone with the Wind)

Rhett Butler to Scarlett 0'Hara : "Franky, my dear, I don't give a damn!" (picture from the movie Gone with the Wind)

Atlanta, September 1873

 

"I don't give a damn." This harsh sentence, pronounced in an implacable tone by Rhett, was buzzing in her head, repeated itself, and amplified until its echo was deafening. How could her husband react so coldly to her declaration of love? On her deathbed, Melly assured me that he loved me. So how could he claim that his love had worn out?

Scarlett's world had collapsed in a few hours: seeing Melly die, realizing how much her sister-in-law had meant to her, and finding out that her great love, her beautiful Ashley, had probably been nothing more than a pipe dream, a little girl's crush that she had artificially fed all her years of adult life.

That morning, everything became an illusion: her jealousy for Melly, her passion for Ashley, Rhett's love for his wife... The only certainty that imposed itself on her was her love for her husband.

Twelve years, it took me twelve years to open my eyes!  Too late, he did no't want her anymore.

How to deal with the emptiness, the lack of Rhett?

She followed Pork into the room of the man he was serving. He gave her a contrite look. "Ma'am Scarlett, Mr. Rhett asked me to pack all his things in trunks and ship them to Charleston. »

Charleston! At least she knew where he'd run. To his mother's house.

Before delivering his final, fatal line, Rhett had promised her that he would return to Atlanta from time to time, to dispel the rumors.

Scarlett O'Hara was not going to sit here stoically waiting for him to return. 

"Prissy, get Wade and Ella's clothes ready. We are going to Tara."

Tara, her life-saving nest that would surely heal her wounds.

ooooOOoooo

Charleston in 1870, over the rooftops, by John Stobard (source scrimshawgallery.com)

Charleston in 1870, over the rooftops, by John Stobard (source scrimshawgallery.com)

Charleston, September 1873

 

Eleonor greeted her son warmly, as she used to every time he came to see her between trips. At first glance, she knew something was wrong.

Her handsome Rhett always dressed to the nines! Now he was standing before her with puffy eyes, trembling hands, shaggy hair, his silk tie ill-fitting, even with a small stain on his breastplate-probably from whiskey, Mrs. Butler noted bitterly, for her son reeked of alcohol.

"My poor boy, what's the matter with you? Are you sick?

Rhett tried to reassure her in a husky voice, "No worries, Mother. Only the fatigue of the journey! »

But it was not that easy to lure the clairvoyant lady from Charleston. Especially since, very quickly, she had seen the whiskey bottles disappear. It was not difficult to understand that Rhett was tormented. He was taciturn and did not leave the Battery house.

"Is your wife coming to visit us? I would really like to get to know her better. Do you realize that I have only met her once? And in sad circumstances..." Eleonor interrupted herself abruptly so as not to mention the fateful day of her little daughter Bonnie's funeral.

"Mother, I would rather not talk about it. If you do not mind, I would like to take advantage of you and Rosemary's presence and enjoy the charm and grace of our old town. »

"The charm of Charleston? I do not recognize my son anymore. You who have always decried the conformism of the traditions of our circle of friends, would you seek to win their votes? »

"Mother, I am weary of the vulgar company that the one who is still my wife has forced me to endure. She only indulges in the company of Scalawags and Carpetbaggers. Anyway, she has no choice. She has spent the last few years scandalizing the honorable people of Atlanta with her behavior, which has led to her being rejected by her own circle. I, on the other hand, want to leave the world she digs in. I crave serenity and beauty now. I know I will find it here, with you. »

"But, under these circumstances, what is Scarlett going to do? Leave Atlanta and join you with her children? »

Rhett's voice turned cold: "No way! I might as well tell you now; I have made up my mind to get a divorce. »

Eleonor took offense: "A divorce? How can you imagine it, my poor son! It will scandalize our acquaintances. Above all, what an indignity for your wife! She will become an outcast in Atlanta. Her children will no longer be received by the families of their friends. Have you thought about the impacts of your actions? »

She found only cold resolution in Rhett's eyes: "I will make amends with the Old Guard in Charleston, create endowments for the War Widows Associations and other good deeds. I had succeeded in winning back the good graces of Atlanta society for my dear Bonnie. I shall be able to do the same in my hometown. Wade and Ella? Sure, I am thinking about them. However, it's been a long time since Scarlett's poor children have had to suffer the consequences of their mother's bad behavior. They are strong and resilient. I will continue to provide for them, ensuring the best schools. As for “Dear Scarlett”, she can always find comfort with her closest friend..." he added, with a knowing look.

Mrs. Butler pretended not to notice this last remark. It had been a long time since her friends Eulalie and Pauline, Scarlett's aunts, had surreptitiously peddled the shameful rumors of a strong friendship between her daughter-in-law and Mr. Wilkes.

As a last resort, she simply asked, "Does Scarlett agree with a divorce? »

Rhett chuckled, "I won't give her a choice. Anyway, let us not talk about it anymore, Mother dear. Tonight, I would like to treat you and my sister to the best restaurant in Charleston. »

With a pirouette, his son made him understand that the matter was closed.

ooooOOoooo

Scarlett O'Hara drinking brandy.

Scarlett O'Hara drinking brandy.

Atlanta, November 1873

Two months had passed since Melanie's death. While the invigorating air of Tara had been a temporary salvation for Scarlett's mood, the return to Atlanta with her children was difficult. How empty her big house seemed, without a soul.... Without Bonnie. Without Rhett.

She tried to drown herself in the work, the store, and the sawmill. But even reviewing the accounting books could no longer hold her attention.

Her children were discreet, noticing their mother's sad look. In silence, they had to face the departure to heaven of their dear Aunt Melly, like that of their little sister a few months earlier. They no longer had the consolation of being distracted by the loving attention of their Uncle Rhett. He too was gone. His departure made their mother cry.

Scarlett did not even bother to share her meals with Ella and Wade, who were under Prissy's care. She was not hungry anyway. Every bite of food was tasteless. Only the taste of brandy satisfied her palate. How sweet it was to savor the warmth that radiated down her throat, the torpor that won her over until she was euphoric! Until she was able to forget...   

Despite the insistence of Prissy and the cook, the trays of food came back untouched from Scarlett's room. The empty bottles, however, were increasing.

Her physical constitution had been shaken by the miscarriage. When Bonnie died, her legendary appetite waned. Then came Melly's death and Rhett's abandonment.

In two months, Scarlett had lost weight. A lot. Her curves had melted. The skin of her face was grey. Large rings encircled her eyes, formerly of emerald, today of dull green, without life.

******

That morning, she did not even bother to impeccably comb her hair, tarnished by the absence of vitamins. Prissy had selected, without taking care of it, one of her oldest dresses of gray color, matching the weather, like her mood, like her life.

She heard the front door slam. But the first glasses of brandy ingested in the morning were already numbing her mind. She did not move from the sofa.

 

With a decided step, Rhett pushed the heavy door of his house, this monstrosity of bad taste that he hated. So comparable to Scarlett, he repeated to himself for the umpteenth time.

He had arrived in Atlanta the day before and without hesitation headed for Belle's quarter. She had not commented on his arrival, but she had been surprised by his nervousness. He was fomenting something, she was persuaded, as if he was ready to pounce on prey. What has that Scarlett done to him again?

He quickly lost interest in the poker game in progress. Taking two bottles of the best whiskey with him, he demanded that Angelina, the pretty blonde who had just arrived during his absence, join him in the room he had occupied for years.

Afterward, in a state of shock, he found himself at Peachtree Street, ready for battle.

With a sudden movement, he opened the door of the parlor. Scarlett jumped in surprise. Rhett was there! Her heart was pounding.

"Rhett! Finally, you came back as you promised. I am so happy to see you! I am going to tell Pork to get your room ready."

"It is no use, Scarlett, I am not staying." His tone of voice was bland.

"Rhett, you can't do this to me! Stay, at least for tonight, for Ella and Wade. The children have been waiting for you so eagerly." She was shaking. The little spark of hope that had lit up for a moment seemed to be evaporating already.

Rhett had his answer ready. He flatly informed her that he was to embark for London the day after tomorrow. He would be taking the first train to Charleston in the early afternoon.

"There is no need to play your well-known motherly chord with me, Scarlett. It does not work. I left a few presents in the lobby for Wade and Ella. The reason I came today was to bring you these. »

In shock, Scarlett saw a sheaf of papers spread out on the small desk.

No, he would not dare, would he? she thought. She felt paralyzed.

"Rhett, this is not..? »

"Scarlett, let us talk about it like adults. Our marriage is over. It has been over for a long time, and you know it. There is no point for both of us to be trapped in this unhealthy relationship. I want to move on. The only solution is to divorce. I will see to it that Wade and Ella do not suffer financially from our separation, and I will finance their education entirely. For you, you will be allocated a generous share of my bank account for five years. I presume this financial gratification will delight your rapacious fingers.»

Relentless words, devoid of any emotion.

"But I love you, my darling! I loved you for a long time but I did not understand it. There is no more Ashley, only you and me. I beg you, give us a chance! I shall change; I shall do whatever you want." Scarlett held out her hand. If her skin made contact with his, she had the feeling that Rhett would respond, that this nightmare would end.

"A little self-respect, I beg you, my Dear. You, the proud Scarlett O'Hara whom nothing could shake, not even Sherman's army! Your pleas are pitiful. It is not by dragging you to my feet that you will regain my respect." His tone was contemptuous now.

The only card she had left was the fight. "I will never accept a divorce! You know that. Obviously, you have not regained all your senses since last night. Your mind is not clear. You reek of liquor, Mr. Butler, and bad perfume. Belle Watling could at least make sure her whores smelled good to her customers." She gritted her teeth at the mere mention of her lifelong rival's name.

Rhett did not back down. "You are getting off track, dear. That's your stinky smell coming to your nostrils. You are the one who reeks of alcohol. Are you criticizing my acquaintances? Look at yourself in the mirror. She is definitely dead, the belle of Clayton County. You are skeletal. I pity you. With your scruffy looks, you would not stand a chance of getting hired in the dingiest of brothels.»

She took the shock. So much hate! The man who spoke before her could not be her husband, her friend who had supported her against all odds for years. He was a stranger. Icy. Dangerous.

"I shall never agree to sign this document. You can tear it up. There will be no divorce." She was getting her strength back.

"Oh, but yes Scarlett, you will, and now! You do not have a choice. Unless, of course, you accept my second agreement.” His sly smile made her shudder.

"And what do you think my alternative would be? »

"I am your husband, as you so eloquently claim, Scarlett. Until today, you must recognize that I have not abused my marital rights. There is no need to speak here of my banishment from your bed. I am cured of that, thank God. I will rather invoke my prerogatives as Head of the family. By our marriage, you have become my property. Your body, but also all your possessions belong to me. In short, your bank accounts, your store, the warehouse, and the sawmill are legally mine. Not to mention your share of your precious Tara, of course. I will add that your children are under my authority.»

Scarlett suddenly found it hard to breathe. A panic of fear strangled her. This was a nightmare! This monster that spoke was not her husband.

"Rhett, you cannot blackmail like that! I do not care about your money. I do not want it. But you would not have the audacity to separate me from my children, would you? You have never thought of them as your own. Only Bonnie has had your love. They have always had only crumbs.»

"The crumbs that you think I have given them have always been more substantial than your expressions of motherly love for them. How many times have I told you that a cat is a much better mother than you?»

He had touched the sensitive point, her weakness, her great regret. Since their birth, Scarlett had fought so that her children would not lack anything, that they would have enough to eat and to wear. Anything to forget the extreme poverty and starvation that Wade had suffered in Tara during the war. But she was aware that she had not shown any love to Wade and Ella, nor the slightest interest in what they loved, what they dreamed of. For Bonnie... her precious Bonnie! She had truly loved her little girl, but Rhett had stolen her from her, leaving her no time to bond with her.  It was not too late for Wade and Ella. Even though her children would find it hard to trust her, she would finally show them the affection they had been so sadly deprived of.

Scarlett O'Hara Hamilton Kennedy stood up proudly. Coldly, she picked up a quill that was displayed on the small table and signed the divorce form. For a few moments, only the energetic cracking of the pen on the paper disturbed the silence that had fallen upon them both. 

Reframing her shoulders, she stood three feet away from her husband: "You win, Mr. Butler. Farewell!»

The emerald eyes sparkled with a thousand fires, as passionate as those of the 16-year-old Belle he had met at Twelve Oaks, twelve years earlier. Then she left the room.

This was the last vision of Scarlett that Rhett brought with him.

ooooOOoooo

Author: Arlette Dambron.

#Gone with the Wind, #GWTW, #fanfiction, #fantic gtww, #french novel, #South Carolina, #historic novel, #Rhett Butler, #Scarlett O'Hara, #I don't give a damn, #end of Gone with the Wind, #divorce 19th century

Chapter 1. The Divorce, The Boutique Robillard, my Gone with The Wind fanfiction

Note : for writing this fan fiction, I have tried, to the best of my knowledge, to settle my story on historical information and facts. However, as far as the Butler divorce is concerned, I don't believe it could have been legally recorded in South Carolina or Georgia, especially with such speed. So let's pretend. For the rest of my scenario, our doomed couple must separate.

ooooOOoooo

 

Read Chapter 2. Scarlett and "The Boutique Robillard"

Savannah, Georgia
Savannah, Georgia

 

Reviews of readers of fanfiction.net and archiveofourown.org  for chapter 2

review sca… chapter 2 . Mar 23 : Wow. This is just wonderful. I look forward to your next chapters. Thank you so much for sharing your story with all of us.

**

Review mis… chapter 2 . Mar 22 : This story has great promise!

**

review Al… chapter 2 . Mar 21 : I can’t wait for Scarlett to meet our OC

**

Review Guest chapter 2 . Mar 21 : Thank you for the update. Beautiful writing, you have me hooked. Rhett was contentious and didn’t show an ounce of empathy to Scarlett even though he noticed her distress enough to bait her with. Looking forward to more.**

**

review Tru… chapter 2 . Apr 2 : Be it divorce or a permanent separation, Rhett’s leaving for England. No skin off his nose since he wasn’t a marrying man in the first place. Hopefully, the stigma of divorce will force Scarlett to snap out of it and learn to live a productive life again.

Pour être informé des derniers articles, inscrivez vous :
Commenter cet article